President Pro Tempore De Leon: Announces Committee Chairs for the 2015-16 Regular Session

SACRAMENTO – California Senate President pro Tempore Kevin de León (D-Los Angeles) has announced his leadership members and nominees for Senate standing committee chairs, forming a legislative team focused on job creation and long-term economic growth.

Designated committee chairs will be formally adopted by the Senate Rules Committee when it convenes on January 7, 2015. The full list of Senate committee membership assignments will be released in the coming weeks.

Majority Leader:
Senator Bill Monning (D-Carmel)

Majority Whip:

Senator Lois Wolk (D-Davis)

Democratic Caucus Chair:
Senator Connie M. Leyva (D-Chino)

Democratic Caucus Vice-Chair:
Senator Mike McGuire (D-Healdsburg)

Senator Cathleen Galgiani (D-Stockton), Chair

Senator Ricardo Lara (D-Bell Gardens), Chair

Banking and Financial Institutions:
Senator Marty Block (D-San Diego), Chair

Budget and Fiscal Review:
Senator Mark Leno (D-San Francisco), Chair

Budget Subcommittee #1 – Education:
Senator Marty Block (D-San Diego), Chair

Budget Subcommittee #2 – Resources, Environmental Protection, Energy and Transportation:
Senator Lois Wolk (D-Davis), Chair

Budget Subcommittee #3 – Health & Human Services:
Senator Holly J. Mitchell (D-Los Angeles), Chair

Budget Subcommittee #4 – State Administration and General Government:
Senator Richard D. Roth (D-Riverside), Chair

Budget Subcommittee #5 – Corrections, Public Safety and the Judiciary:
Senator Loni Hancock (D-Berkeley), Chair

Business, Professions and Economic Development:
Senator Jerry Hill (D-San Mateo/Santa Clara Counties), Chair

Senator Carol Liu (D-LaCañada/Flintridge), Chair

Elections and Constitutional Amendments:
Senator Benjamin Allen (D-Santa Monica), Chair

Energy, Utilities and Communications:
Senator Ben Hueso (D-San Diego), Chair

Environmental Quality:
Senator Bob Wieckowski (D-Fremont), Chair

Governance and Finance:
Senator Robert Hertzberg (D-Van Nuys), Chair

Governmental Organization:
Senator Isadore Hall, III (D-South Bay), Chair

Senator Ed Hernandez, O.D. (D-West Covina), Chair

Human Services:
Senator Mike McGuire (D-Healdsburg), Chair

Senator Richard D. Roth (D-Riverside), Chair

Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson (D-Santa Barbara), Chair

Labor and Industrial Relations:
Senator Tony Mendoza (D-Artesia), Chair

Legislative Ethics:
Senator Bill Monning (D-Carmel), Chair

Natural Resources and Water:
Senator Fran Pavley (D- Agoura Hills), Chair

Public Employment and Retirement:
Senator Richard Pan (D-Sacramento), Chair

Public Safety:
Senator Loni Hancock (D-Berkeley), Chair

Transportation and Housing:
Senator Jim Beall (D-San Jose), Chair

Veterans Affairs:

Joint Committee on Arts:
Senator Benjamin Allen (D-Santa Monica), Chair

Joint Committee on Fisheries and Aquaculture:
Senator Mike McGuire (D-Healdsburg), Chair

Joint Legislative Budget:
Senator Mark Leno (D-San Francisco), Chair

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

  • LAAAC is managed by St. Barnabas Senior Services; Funded, in part, by Archstone Foundation.
  • St. Barnabas Senior Services

%d bloggers like this: